Thursday, 14 July 2016



At a meeting of the LEICESTER CITY COUNCIL held at the Town Hall at FIVE O'CLOCK in the afternoon on Thursday, 14 JULY 2016 duly convened for the business hereunder mentioned

========

BUSINESS

========

- 1. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS
- 2. **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**
- 3. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

In accordance with the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 and by virtue of Council Minute 48 of the Meeting held on 30 November 2006 and Council Minute 32 of the Meeting held on 24 November 2011, to consider proposals to confer the title of Honorary Alderman to former members of the City Council.

(The Act provides that the Council may, by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon at a meeting specially convened for the purpose, with notice of the object, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members of that Council, but who are not then Councillors of the Council.)

Fire & Emergency Evacuation Procedure

- The Council Chamber Fire Exits are the two entrances either side of the top bench or under the balcony in the far left corner of the room.
- In the event of an emergency alarm sounding make your way to Town Hall Square and assemble on the far side of the fountain.
- Anyone who is unable to evacuate using stairs should speak to any of the Town Hall staff at the beginning of the meeting who will offer advice on evacuation arrangements.
- From the public gallery, exit via the way you came in, or via the Chamber as directed by Town Hall staff.

Filming and Recording the Meeting

The Council is committed to transparency and supports efforts to record and share reports of proceedings of public meetings through a variety of means, including social media. In accordance with government regulations and the Council's policy, persons and press attending any meeting of the Council open to the public (except Licensing Sub Committees and where the public have been formally excluded) are allowed to record and/or report all or part of that meeting. Details of the Council's policy are available at www.leicester.gov.uk or from Democratic Support.

If you intend to film or make an audio recording of a meeting you are asked to notify the relevant Democratic Support Officer in advance of the meeting to ensure that participants can be notified in advance and consideration given to practicalities such as allocating appropriate space in the public gallery etc.

The aim of the Regulations and of the Council's policy is to encourage public interest and engagement so in recording or reporting on proceedings members of the public are asked:

- ✓ to respect the right of others to view and hear debates without interruption;
- ✓ to ensure that the sound on any device is fully muted and intrusive lighting avoided:
- ✓ where filming, to only focus on those people actively participating in the meeting;
- ✓ where filming, to (via the Chair of the meeting) ensure that those present are
 aware that they may be filmed and respect any requests to not be filmed.

PRESENT:

STEVE CORRALL, LORD MAYOR CHAIRMAN

SIR PETER SOULSBY - CITY MAYOR

Abbey Ward North Evington Ward

ANNETTE BYRNE LUIS FONSECA

VIJAY SINGH RIYAIT ABDUL RAZAK OSMAN

<u>Aylestone Ward</u> <u>Rushey Mead Ward</u>

ADAM CLARKE PIARA SINGH CLAIR

NIGEL CARL PORTER RITA PATEL

ROSS WILLMOTT

Beaumont Leys Ward Saffron Ward

HEMANT RAE BHATIA ELLY CUTKELVIN
SUE WADDINGTON WILLIAM SHELTON

PAUL THOMAS WESTLEY

Belgrave Ward Spinney Hills Ward

MANSUKLAL CHOHAN SHOFIQUL ISLAM CHOWDHURY

MANJULA SOOD MUSTAFA MALIK

Braunstone Park and Rowley Fields Stoneygate Ward

ELAINE HALFORD LUCY CHAPLIN KULWINDER SINGH JOHAL KIRK MASTER

AMINUR THALUKDAR

<u>Castle Ward</u> <u>Thurncourt Ward</u>

PATRICK JOSEPH KITTERICK PAUL NEWCOMBE

LYNN SENIOR

JOHN THOMAS

Evington Ward Troon Ward

DEEPAK BAJAJ DIANE CANK RATILAL BHAGWAN GOVIND BALJIT SINGH

SUE HUNTER

Eyres Monsell Ward Westcotes Ward

VIRGINIA CLEAVER ANDY CONNELLY RORY PALMER SARAH RUSSELL

Fosse Ward

DAWN ALFONSO TED CASSIDY

Humberstone and Hamilton Ward

VI DEMPSTER RASHMI JOSHI GURINDER SINGH SANDHU

Knighton Ward

ROSS GRANT INDERJIT SINGH GUGNANI DR LYNN MOORE Western Ward

DR SUSAN BARTON GEORGE COLE MALCOLM UNSWORTH

Wycliffe Ward

HANIF AQBANY MOHAMMED DAWOOD

LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

Before the meeting formally commenced the Lord Mayor asked his Spiritual Adviser to say an appropriate prayer.

The Lord Mayor informed Council that the City Council's Festivals and Events Manager, Maggie Shutt had been awarded an MBE in the most recent Queens Birthday Honours for her services to culture and the community in Leicestershire. The Lord Mayor and Council were pleased to congratulate Maggie on this well-deserved honour.

The Lord Mayor informed Council of an event to be held in Leicester Market on Friday 29 July. The event which was due to commence at 11am was to include a mini fete, a competition for the best dressed market stall to be judged at 12.30pm and a tombola and raffle.

Funds raised by the event would go to the Lord Mayor's appeal supporting the Leicester Children's Holiday Centre in Mablethorpe which raised money to allow disadvantaged children from Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland to have a holiday that they might never experience.

The Lord Mayor asked all present to note the evacuation procedures detailed on the Agenda for the meeting. He asked anyone with any queries to speak to one of the Town Hall staff who would be able to assist.

DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

The Lord Mayor invited Members to declare any interests they may have in the business on the agenda.

No declarations were made.

APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

Note

The Local Government Act 1972 provides that the Council may, by a resolution passed by not less than two thirds of the Members voting thereon at a meeting specially convened for the purpose, with notice of the object, confer the title of Honorary Alderman on persons who have in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent services to the Council as past Members of that Council, but who are not then Councillors of the Council.

Moved by Councillor Westley, seconded by Councillor Joshi and carried:-

8. That, in accordance with the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 and in accordance with the Council's policy on the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen, to consider proposals to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on the following former members of the City Council, I move that:-

Michael Cooke and; Anne Glover

be each appointed as an Honorary Alderman of the Leicester City Council.

Moved by Councillor Porter, seconded by Councillor Unsworth and carried:-

9. That, in accordance with the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 and in accordance with the Council's policy on the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen, to consider proposals to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on the following former member of the City Council, I move that:-

Joan Garrity

be appointed as an Honorary Alderman of the Leicester City Council.

Close of Meeting

The Lord Mayor declared the meeting closed at 5.05 pm.